The Wonders of the Philippines

The Philippines is the second largest archipelago which is composed of 7, 107 islands. The country offers unprecedented tourist stops such as the rice terraces of Ifugao, diving sites of Palawan and the lush forests of Bohol. The Philippines is absolutely a country endowed with wonders and attractions of nature.


The Banaue Rice Terraces


The Banaue Rice Terraces are 2,000-year-old terraces that were formed into the high mountains of Ifugao. It is greatly believed that the Banaue Rice Terraces were built primarily by hand. Today, the locals still use the terraces to plant rice and vegetation.


UNESCO defined it as, “a memorial to the history and labor of more than a thousand generations of small-scale farmers who, working together as a community, have created a landscape based on a delicate and sustainable use of natural resources.”


The Chocolate Hills of Bohol


This natural masterpiece has at least 1, 260 hills to an area of approximately 50 square kilometers. Bohol’s Chocolate Hills is the most prominent and a trademark tourist spot of Bohol, and indeed the Philippine national government pointed it as one of the country’s ‘flagship traveler destinations.’


The Committee on Geological Sciences announced the Cholocate Hills of Bohol as the Philippines’ 3rd National Geological Monument on date June 18, 1988, in appreciation of its unique characteristics, high scenic value and scientific importance. Thus, this listed the Chocolate Hills as part of the country’s protected range.


The Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park


A sheltered area of the Philippines found in the middle of the Sulu Sea. The Tubattaha Reefs Natural Park is declared as a World Heritage Site which has a unique sample of an atoll reef with a vast quantity of marine species. Following the Tubbataha’s discovery by some divers in the late ’70s, it has grown the most exceptional coral reefs on the whole planet.


The CNN travel website even considers it as one of its top eight dive sites in the entire world for its remarkable biodiversity and breathtaking marine sceneries. It is the original marine area that was identified as a national park which was declared by the late President Corazon Aquino way back August 11, 1988.


The Puerto-Princesa Subterranean River National Park


Also called as the “Puerto Princesa Underground River” is an also protected area in the Philippines which highlights magnificent limestone karst scenery and a subterranean river. The site serves a vital habitat for the conservation of biodiversity and flaunts a full “mountain-to-sea” ecosystem.


On December 4, 1999, Puerto-Princesa Subterranean River National Park was listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site. Moreover, Puerto Princesa Underground River was conditionally cast as one of the New7Wonders of Nature on November 11, 2011, and was formally affirmed on January 28, 2012.